My Day With The ASO

On the 28th of February, I attended the Big Rehearsal at Grainger Studio in the centre of Adelaide. For those of you who don’t know what the Big Rehearsal is, it’s an opportunity for young, classical musicians to spend a day playing with and learning from the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra. Basically, I spent a full day playing first horn for the ASO.

Yep, I spent a day playing with these awesome people.

And yes, it was one of the greatest things ever. 

I’ve had the good luck to have done the Big Rehearsal once before, about two years ago. But I’d actually forgotten how amazingly fun it was to play with a real, professional orchestra. Everyone at the ASO is so lovely and warm, and such brilliant, talented musicians.

There were two horn players from the ASO there, both of whom I’ve actually met before on separate occasions, and two other students (both from university), one of whom I knew quite well because she used to go to my school. I was a little nervous, being the only high school student there playing horn, but everyone was so nice that I relaxed pretty quickly.

Words cannot express how much I love this intrument. (Source)

The rehearsal went – with a few breaks for food, of course – from 10:00 am to 3:30 pm, when we played a small concert for our friends and relatives. We played some great, although very challenging pieces, which you can listen to below:

  • Several movements of the Peer Gynt Suite by Grieg

  • Cuban Overture by Gershwin (that was particularly challenging!)
  • The Courtly Dances by Benjamin Britten

I think that was all we played, but the pieces were very long and very hard to play, so by the end of the day I was exhausted!

It was a great experience, I learned so much, and I can now definitely say that my dream is to play professionally with the ASO. Wish me luck 😉

À bientôt 🙂

Leave a Reply

